DRT Celebrates 60 Million Total Riders and 10 Million in 2012

​WHITBY, ON, November 20, 2012 – Durham Region Transit (DRT) ridership has climbed to a total of 60 million passengers since inception in January, 2006.
DRT provides service to more than ten million passengers annually, an increase of 49% since 2006. The largest fare category continues to be students at 45% of total rides followed by Adult riders at 22% and Co-Fare riders at 13%.
While DRT could not be certain who the actual 60 millionth passenger was, eight DRT representatives and members of the DRT Transit Executive Committee and Regional Council, visited eight municipalities and selected eight grand prize winners. DRT Representatives also selected a Specialized Services winner. Winners from each municipality and the Specialized Services passenger received free DRT tickets or a pass and a DRT prize package.
“Durham Region will continue its commitment to invest in the transit needs of residents and move forward with a planned long-term transit strategy. In 2013, DRT will launch its first bus rapid transit (BRT) service operating on the HWY 2 corridor between Oshawa and the Scarborough U of T campus,” says Regional Chair and CEO Roger Anderson and Chair of the DRT Commission.
“The focus will remain on providing residents of the eight municipalities in Durham Region with the most effective and efficient public transit service possible. DRT has implemented 11 new or expanded routes, added 43,400 service hours, revitalized and grown its fleet with 116 accessible buses since amalgamation”, says General Manager, DRT, Ted Galinis.
60 Millionth Rider winners and presenters:
DRT Operations Manager Westney Ahmad Kidwai, Town of Ajax Mayor Steve Parish,  Ajax winner Dorothy McEwan and Deputy General Manager Maintenance and Equipment Peter Chatoff.
City of Pickering Councillor Keven Ashe, DRT Deputy General Manager Martin Ward, DRT Operator Brenda Arnott, Pickering winner Tashika Griffiths, City of Pickering Deputy Mayor Doug Dickerson .
DRT Administrative Assistant Andrea Haynes, Town of Whitby Councillor Don Mitchell, Whitby winner Lindsay De-Roo, Regional Chair and CEO Roger Anderson and Chair of the DRT Commission, DRT General ManagerTed Galinis.
City of Oshawa Councillor and Vice Chair Transit Executive Committee Nester Pidwerbecki, DRT Operator  William Estruch and Oshawa winners Jesse Perrin, Kassanadra Howe and Johnathan Perrin.
Municipality of Clarington Councillor Mary Novak Clarington and Clarington winner Jessica Edwards.
DRT Deputy General Manager Specialized and Contracted Services Ben Chartier, Operator Guillaume Proulx, Uxbridge winner Joey Milligan and Township of Uxbridge Mayor Gerri Lynn O’Connor .
Township of Scugog Councillor Bobbie Drew and Scugog winner Ashley Boumons.
Brock winner Christine Pike and husband, Operator Nelson Samur and Township of Brock  Councillor Mike Manchester.
Specialized Services passenger William Evans and DRT Operator Greg Simmons.

DRT is an integrated transit system serving all communities in Durham Region. Accessible transit for approximately 3,200 clients or 155,000 trips per year is provided by DRT Specialized Services.
- 30 -
Media Inquiries:
Susan Dickison, Communications Coordinator, 905-668-7711 ext. 3754